
Landing Craft and Amphibious Landings (v4.3) 

There are three kinds of “Landing Craft” — Landing Craft, DUKW, and LST.  When the generic term is used a rule 
applies to all three types of Landing Craft; some rules are specific to only DUKW (18.4e) or LST (18.4f).  DUKW 
have a unique MA of 8 per phase; the other two types move 10 per phase. 

Floating Forces/Sea Box.  This off-map box is where Landing Craft begin the process of moving cargo ashore.  
Landing Craft move to and from the map via Naval Release Points (NRP) or Air Entry Points (AEP).  There is no cost 
to make this move, but a Landing Craft can only go one direction — into the box or out of it — in any given 
phase.  If a game has Landing Craft, it has a Floating Forces or Sea Box and NRPs/AEPs.  
 • Loading in this box can only be done at the start of the Movement Phase! 

Cargo can be ground units and SPs.  Loading is usually done in Floating Forces, but can also be done at on-map 
ports.  There is no cost to load or unload cargo, but a Landing Craft stops its movement after unloading.   There 
are three general types of Amphibious Landings: 

A) If the hex is occupied by an enemy combat unit, it is a Beach Assault (see 18.6).  Very uncommon! 
B) When not using a friendly port, an ALT Roll is needed to unload cargo.  Make one roll per 3 RE unloaded 

in a hex.  This can only be done in the Movement Phase.  Make the ALT rolls after all movement of 
Landing Craft has been completed.  Ground units can land in either Combat or Move Mode, and can 
move 1/2 MA after landing.  Exception: SP and Transport Points cannot be unloaded.  

C) When using a port, an ALT Roll is not needed — just  unload cargo up to the port’s capacity.  This can be 
done in the Movement, Reaction, or Exploitation Phase.  Ground units can land in either Combat or Move 
Mode, but cannot move after landing.  Note that SP and Transport Points can unload when using ports, 
and that ports with a capacity above zero can use their full capacity to load/unload any single combat 
unit.  Play Note: Use the regular Sea Cap to move SP ashore during the Movement Phase, and then use 
“extra” Landing Craft to bring in SP at ports during Exploit and/or Reaction. 

DUKW move 8 per phase when acting as a ship, and can only carry “light” cargo (the kind that can be moved via 
Air Transport missions).  They can be converted to act as a truck when they make an ALT roll (and this can be the 
same roll that unloads cargo), and at this point their MA is 24. They stop if they unloaded cargo as part of this roll; 
otherwise they multiply remaining MA by 3 if converting from ship-to-truck, and divide remaining MA by 3 when 
converting the other direction.  When in truck mode, they spend 2 MP to load/unload.  (Example: DUKW loaded 
with 1 SP spends 3 MP moving from an NRP to the coastal hex where it wants to convert to a truck. An ALT roll is 
made, and if successful the DUKW gets to make an “after landing” move using a proportion of its remaining 
movement.  Multiply its remaining movement by 3, so 5 x 3 = 15 MP.  It could move a couple of hexes and then 
unload the SP.)  DUKW are super-cool because they can bring SP ashore in non-port hexes! 
 • ALT roll is not needed to convert from truck to ship! 

LST have the unique ability to create a new 1 SP port.  This can be done by making a successful ALT roll (and this 
can be the one used to unload cargo).  These ports cannot be damaged (but are destroyed when an enemy combat 
unit overruns the hex). LST are downgraded to regular Landing Craft when a loss is taken, so keep them in 
Floating Forces until you want to create an LST Port — they are too valuable to risk! 
 • An LST port cannot be put in the same hex with another port!


